Sublime moments #2: Manarola, Italy

Manarola - © Julian Chan

Manarola – © Julian Chan

The year was 2005 and I was on my third trip to Italy. I was taking in the beautiful Italian Riviera, visiting Portofino and Cinque Terre. As an avid photographer I did my homework and decided Manarola was the most photogenic of the 5 villages. Staying at the northernmost Monterosso I took a boat to southernmost Riomaggiore and explored the other 5 villages by train, making sure I ended up at Manarola last, where I could make best use of the sunset. I scanned the area and determined the best vantage point was on this perch on a hill just in front of the local cemetery. There I sat and awaited the setting of the sun by writing postcards. I could see a lot of visitors below but no-one joined me. So with the place to myself, I watched the sun set over the placid Ligurian Sea behind a picturesque fishing village. Truly one of my favourite travel moments.

One response to “Sublime moments #2: Manarola, Italy

Leave a Reply

